Knitting and a metaphor for life

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/00f/73791799/files/2014/12/img_1600.jpg
Lately I have been knitting and crafting like a Christmas elf. It’s holiday time so there are plenty of presents to knit. On the train in the morning and the afternoon, I manage to complete a few rows, while I listen to the news in German spoken slowly. (Even still it’s pretty hard to get more than the gist of what they are reporting.) In the evenings, I knit and catch up on my American tv shows or get in the Christmas spirit with the Grinch,  Rudolf, and White Christmas as I attempt to complete everything by the 25th.

Knitting gives me plenty of time to think. Since I generally knit only in the winter months, it usually takes a few rows to get back into knitting shape. And since I’m working on multiple projects at once, all with different patterns, I raise my chances of making mistakes, i.e. Accidentally knitting one pattern into another.

Yesterday, while on the train, I started having what I believed to be was a great thought. I was knitting away and thinking about the success and satisfaction that comes from making mistakes in knitting, figuring out how to fix them and moving forward without having to start all over again.

I thought about coming up with some inspirational phrase like, “the point of life is not to be perfect but to have the tools to fix your mistakes and move forward.” And then I thought further about something even more grandiose like, “Then fabric of our lives become full and rich.” I guess think I’m really poetic at 8am.

Being that I was halfway into two projects, I felt pretty confident that my mistakes were behind me.

As I’m musing away, thinking only of my big idea, I suddenly look at the knitting and realize that I’ve knitted an entire row in the wrong pattern. And this is a herringbone stitch, so at first I have no idea how to fix it.

“Wow,” I laugh to myself. “So much for your big idea.” Suddenly my train stop comes and the yarn is a mess. I grab my coat and throw the whole thing in my bag. With some time to obsess on the walk to school I say to myself, “hmmm, well I guess this is your chance to test your theory. Is it really true? Can you fix your mistakes and move forward? Can you make the fabric look just as if it was knitted to perfection?”

So we’ll see if I can fix it or not. I’m pretty determined since Christmas is just a few days away.

Leave a Reply

